Tourist Visa India Online

Find out the key requirements to get an eVisa to India

About eVisa India

India eVisa is an electronic alternative to the regular visa for India obtained at an Embassy. India eVisa is available for travellers from over 150 countries entirely online after completing a quick and intuitive process of applying.

The Government of India introduced the eVisa system six years ago aiming for a quicker and easier visa application process and a tourism boost. Indian authorities offer five India eVisa types that come in different length of stay, purpose of visit, and validity period allowed.

The application process for each available Indian eVisa type takes minutes while the processing of each application submitted takes maximally 72 hours.

About Shape

Benefits of using an Indian eVisa

  • A complete online application process
  • E-mail delivery of the approved document
  • Support of eVisa experts
  • Short processing times
  • No Embassy visits
  • Minimal requirements
Apply for eVisa


The Indian Government stipulated minimal requirements for eligible travellers to meet before applying for the India eVisa.

Basic requirements to meet for every traveller:

  • Business travellers: an invitation letter or a business card of the company traveller plans on working with in India
  • Internet connection - to be able to complete the process of applying
  • Valid passport – that will not expire for a minimum of six months from the planned date of visiting India
  • An active email address – to be able to receive the approved document once it’s processed
  • Medical travellers: a document in paper form issued by a hospital or other medical institution traveller will be undergoing medical treatment at

How to apply for an India eVisa

The process of applying for the India eVisa takes place entirely online and consists of the following steps:

  • Providing the needed information in the application form
  • Covering the eVisa issuing fee
  • Checking one’s email inbox for the approved document

Please note that providing correct information in the online application form is crucial for positive approval. It’s important to check the completed form thoroughly before submitting it for processing.

Apply for eVisa

How long does it take to get an India eVisa

India eVisa gets processed within a maximum of 72 hours from the submitted online application. Please note that eVisa applications get processed during the business week, meaning, it’s important to submit one’s application no later than 3 business days of the planned departure to India.

About Shape

Can I extend my stay in India after my eVisa expires

The electronic India visa cannot be extended. Avoid overstaying your visa while in India not to face any problems with exiting or returning to this country. Indian eVisas allow for different lengths of stay, depending on the specific type selected.

You can choose from:

  • A single-entry 30-day eVisa issued for leisure purposes
  • A multiple-entry eVisa issued for business purposes and allowing a total stay of 180 days
  • A triple-entry eVisa issued for medical purposes, allowing a total stay of two months
  • A one-year eVisa issued for leisure purposes
  • A five-year eVisa serving as a multiple-entry permit allowing numerous 90-day leisure-related visits in India

List of countries who can apply for evisa to India

AlbaniaAlbania AndorraAndorra AngolaAngola
Antigua and BarbudaAntigua and Barbuda ArgentinaArgentina ArmeniaArmenia
AustraliaAustralia AustriaAustria AzerbaijanAzerbaijan
BahamasBahamas BarbadosBarbados BelizeBelize
BelgiumBelgium BoliviaBolivia Bosnia and HerzegovinaBosnia and Herzegovina
BotswanaBotswana BrazilBrazil BruneiBrunei
BulgariaBulgaria BurundiBurundi CambodiaCambodia
CameroonCameroon Cape VerdeCape Verde ChileChile
ChinaChina ColombiaColombia ComorosComoros
Costa RicaCosta Rica Cote D'IvoireCote D'Ivoire CroatiaCroatia
CubaCuba CyprusCyprus Czech RepublicCzech Republic
DenmarkDenmark DjiboutiDjibouti DominicaDominica
Dominican RepublicDominican Republic EcuadorEcuador El SalvadorEl Salvador
EritreaEritrea EstoniaEstonia EswatiniEswatini
FijiFiji FinlandFinland FranceFrance
GabonGabon GambiaGambia GeorgiaGeorgia
GermanyGermany GhanaGhana GreeceGreece
GrenadaGrenada GuatemalaGuatemala GuineaGuinea
GuyanaGuyana HaitiHaiti HondurasHonduras
Hong KongHong Kong HungaryHungary IcelandIceland
IndonesiaIndonesia IsraelIsrael ItalyItaly
JamaicaJamaica JapanJapan JordanJordan
KazakhstanKazakhstan KenyaKenya KiribatiKiribati
KyrgyzstanKyrgyzstan LaosLaos LatviaLatvia
LesothoLesotho LiberiaLiberia LiechtensteinLiechtenstein
LithuaniaLithuania LuxembourgLuxembourg MacauMacau
MacedoniaMacedonia MadagascarMadagascar MalawiMalawi
MalaysiaMalaysia MaliMali MaltaMalta
Marshall IslandsMarshall Islands MauritiusMauritius MexicoMexico
MicronesiaMicronesia MoldovaMoldova MonacoMonaco
MongoliaMongolia MontenegroMontenegro MozambiqueMozambique
MyanmarMyanmar NamibiaNamibia NauruNauru
NetherlandsNetherlands New ZealandNew Zealand Cook IslandsCook Islands
NiueNiue NicaraguaNicaragua NigerNiger
NorwayNorway OmanOman PalauPalau
PalestinePalestine PanamaPanama Papua New GuineaPapua New Guinea
ParaguayParaguay PeruPeru PhilippinesPhilippines
PolandPoland PortugalPortugal QatarQatar
RomaniaRomania RussiaRussia RwandaRwanda
Saint Kitts and NevisSaint Kitts and Nevis Saint LuciaSaint Lucia Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
SamoaSamoa San MarinoSan Marino SenegalSenegal
SerbiaSerbia SeychellesSeychelles Sierra LeoneSierra Leone
SingaporeSingapore SlovakiaSlovakia SloveniaSlovenia
Solomon IslandsSolomon Islands South AfricaSouth Africa South KoreaSouth Korea
SpainSpain SurinameSuriname SwedenSweden
SwitzerlandSwitzerland TaiwanTaiwan TajikistanTajikistan
TanzaniaTanzania ThailandThailand Timor-LesteTimor Leste
TongaTonga Trinidad and TobagoTrinidad and Tobago TuvaluTuvalu
UgandaUganda UkraineUkraine United Arab EmiratesUnited Arab Emirates
United KingdomUnited Kingdom United StatesUnited States UruguayUruguay
UzbekistanUzbekistan VanuatuVanuatu Vatican CityVatican City
VenezuelaVenezuela VietnamVietnam ZambiaZambia